About

With over 33 years of professional business in the West Michigan area. River City is a leader in the commercial, HVAC, plumbing, industrial piping, service, preventive maintenance and medical gas industries.

River City Mechanical provides services for large corps and small businesses. We’ve established trust in our community by developing strong relationships with our customers.

What We Do

From the largest, most technical and sophisticated HVAC and plumbing installations, to a retro-fit roof top replacement, River City Mechanical has the capabilities to serve you. Healthcare to industrial piping, we suit your design and installation needs

Whether you have one location in Grand Rapids or ten in the West Michigan area, River City Mechanical is capable of managing the designing, installation and servicing of your HVAC, Plumbing, process piping and medical gas installations.

IMG_87B03832B0B8-1

We serve all the major cities in the greater West Michigan area including Cadillac, Big Rapids, Muskegon, Grand Rapids, Grand Haven, Holland, Zeeland & Kalamazoo.

Receive the same level of quality service from Cadillac to Kalamazoo to reduce your mechanical and comfort troubles. Our investment in technical training shows in the performance of our skilled techs regarding quality and efficiency. Our commitment assures you have made an excellent investment in your business.

Meet Our Team

Scott A. Dood
President / Project Manager
sdood@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1990
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • Project Manager
  • Medical Gas Certified

Mark Hendricks
Vice President / Treasurer/ Project Manager
markhendricks@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1990
  • Journeyman Plumber
  • Medical Gas Certified

Robert A. Dood
CEO
bdood@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1967
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan #81-10473
  • Mechanical Contractor State of Michigan #71-09741
  • Boiler Installer State of Michigan #314467-2B

Bernard P. Malewitz
Executive Vice President
bmalewitz@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1987
  • President of Sales
  • Senior Estimator
  • Project Manager

Matt Reagan
Vice President of Operations
mreagan@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 2001
  • Journeyman Plumber
  • Medical Gas Certified
  • First Aid Certified

Ed Stein
Project Manager
estein@rivercitymech.com

  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • B.B.A from GVSU
  • Industry Experienced since 2003
  • OSHA 10hr Certified
  • Medical Gas Certified

Michael J. Holwerda
Chief Estimator
mholwerda@rivercitymech.com

  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • Project Manager

Jim Nickels
Health Care Group
jnickels@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1977
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Certified Installer
  • Boiler Installer State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Third Party Verifier
  • Health Care Design/Build
  • Michigan Plumbing Contractors License

Eric Koeppel
Project Manager
ekoeppel@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2002
  • Mechanical System Specialist
  • HVAC Design & Sales

Mike Holwerda Jr. 
Project Manager
mholwerdajr@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experiences since 2003
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas and Brazing certified

Steve Baker
Safety Director
sbaker@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1992
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Certified
  • First Aid Certified

Ethan Rohen
Sales & Marketing
erohen@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1993
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • First Aid Certified

Jessica Jones
CAD Technician / Project Support
jessicajones@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 2008
  • Associate of Arts 2013

Steve Boersma
Controller
sboersma@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2000
  • B.S. in Accounting – Indiana 2000

Stacey Carver
Job Cost Accountant
scarver@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2015

Barb MacWilliams, CBT, CIT
Job Cost Accountant
bmacWilliams@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1989
  • NAWIC Member from 1999-2015
  • Associates Degree in Accounting 1983

Sharon McKenzie
Office Manager
smckenzie@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 2005

Dave Ryman
Service Manager
dryman@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 1987
  • Mechanical Contractor State of Michigan
  • Universal EPA Certified
  • AAS – HVAC/R Technologies – Ferris State University

Theresa Stannard
Service Dispatch
tstannard@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced in HVAC Service since 1996

Matt Wein
Service Supervisor
mwein@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 1999
  • AAS – HVAC/R Technologies – Ferris State University
  • EPA Certified

Joe Reader
jreader@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1978
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan

Steve Jones
sjones@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1996
  • Journeyman Plumber
  • Medical Gas Certified

Brian McGahan
bmcgahan@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1981
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Certified

Steve Moore
smoore@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1994
  • Journeyman Plumber
  • Medical Gas & Brazing certified
  • First Aid certified

Jerry Van Eizenga
jvaneizenga@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1985
  • Journeyman Plumber

Bob Cook
bcook@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1997
  • Master Plumber

Sam Mehrtens
smehrtens@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 2003
  • Journeyman Plumber

Jeff Shotko
jshotko@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 1999
  • HVAC Lead Installer
  • Mechanical System Installer

Jason Edgar
jedgar@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced since 2008
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas and Brazing Certified

Dalton Deters
ddeters@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2014
  • HVAC Mechanic
  • Bachelors of Science – GVSU

Jon Reedy
jreedy@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2006
  • HVAC Mechanic

Tony Jones
tjones@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2015
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas and Backflow Certified
  • CSD1 Certified

Jim VanDrunen
jvandrunen@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 2012
  • HVAC Mechanic

Pete Rusco
prusco@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1986
  • HVAC Mechanic

Mark Dunn
mdunn@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1985
  • Master Plumber State of Michigan

Matt Sullivan
msullivan@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1994
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Certified

Rob Gross
rgross@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1996
  • First-Aid Certified

Herm Patow
hpatow@rivercitymech.com

  • Industry Experienced Since 1994
  • Journeyman Plumber State of Michigan
  • Medical Gas Certified
  • Backflow Certified

Andy Jakeway
ajakeway@rivercitymech.com

  • Construction Service Manager
  • Industry Experienced Since 1994
  • Associates degree in HVAC - Ferris State

Awards & Certifications

River City Mechanical is committed to building and maintaining a reputation as the safest mechanical contractor in our industry.

2008 abc award

2008 ABC STEP AWARD – Platinum Level

River City Mechanical was the winner of the associated Builders and Contractors 2008 Platinum STEP (Safety Training and Evaluation Process) award.

ABC-Award-2007-300x225

2007 ABC STEP AWARD – Platinum Level

River City Mechanical was the winner of the associated Builders and Contractors 2007 Platinum STEP (Safety Training and Evaluation Process) award.

ABC-Award-2006-300x225

2006 ABC STEP AWARD – Platinum Level

River City Mechanical was the winner of the associated Builders and Contractors 2006 Platinum STEP (Safety Training and Evaluation Process) award.

ABC-Award-2005-300x225

2005 ABC STEP AWARD – Platinum Level

River City Mechanical was the winner of the associated Builders and Contractors 2005 Platinum STEP (Safety Training and Evaluation Process) award.

ABC-Award-2004-300x225

2004 ABC STEP AWARD – Gold Level

River City Mechanical was the winner of the associated Builders and Contractors 2004 Gold STEP (Safety Training and Evaluation Process) award.

We serve all the major cities in the greater West Michigan area including Cadillac, Big Rapids, Muskegon, Grand Rapids, Grand Haven, Holland, Zeeland & Kalamazoo.

EXPERIENCE

With almost two decades of professional business in the West Michigan area, River City Mechanical is a leader in the commercial, HVAC, plumbing, industrial piping, service, preventive maintenance and medical gas industries.

EXPERTISE

River City Mechanical provides services for large corporations and small businesses. We’ve established trust in our community by developing strong relationships with our customers.